ABA Journal: Modern Law Library : Summer reading and a book coming to the silver screen

25:10
 
Bagikan
 

Manage episode 295682895 series 87928
Oleh Legal Talk Network ditemukan oleh Player FM dan komunitas kami — hak cipta dimiliki oleh penerbit, bukan Player FM, dan audio langsung didapatkan dari server mereka. Tekan tombol Berlangganan untuk mendapat setiap pembaharuan di Player FM, atau salin URL feed ke aplikasi podcast lainnya.

Summer is upon us, vaccinations are making travel safer, and you may be looking forward to getting some leisure reading done. In this episode of the Modern Law Library, host Lee Rawles shares some of the books she’s read since our favorites reads of 2020 episode. We are also re-airing a 2017 interview we did with David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI. A film adaptation of the book is currently in production, with Martin Scorsese directing and Leonardo DiCaprio, Robert De Niro, Jesse Plemmons and Lily Gladstone featured as actors. Check out the interview before the movie's expected release in 2022.

Mentioned in this episode:

The Premonition, by Michael Lewis

https://wwnorton.com/books/9780393881554 In Such Good Company: Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox, by Carol Burnett https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/259024/in-such-good-company-by-carol-burnett/ The Second World War, by Anthony Beevor https://www.hachettebookgroup.com/titles/antony-beevor/the-second-world-war/9780316084079/ D-Day: The Battle for Normandy, by Anthony Beevor https://www.penguinrandomhouseaudio.com/book/288959/d-day/ A Fatal Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum: A Cultural History of Murder in Ancient Rome, by Emma Southon https://www.emmasouthon.com/a-fatal-thing-happened-on-the-way-to-the-forum The Pacific War Trilogy by Ian W. Toll - Pacific Crucible: War at Sea in the Pacific, 1941-1942 https://wwnorton.com/books/pacific-crucible - The Conquering Tide: War in the Pacific Islands, 1942-1944 https://wwnorton.com/books/the-conquering-tide - Twilight of the Gods: War in the Western Pacific, 1944-1945 https://wwnorton.com/books/9780393080650 The Romanovs: 1613-1918, by Simon Sebag Montefiore https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/116185/the-romanovs-by-simon-sebag-montefiore/ 500 Miles from You, by Jenny Colgan https://www.harpercollins.com/products/500-miles-from-you-jenny-colgan?variant=32128904626210 Scottish Bookshop series by Jenny Colgan https://www.goodreads.com/series/263886-scottish-bookshop Practical Magic, by Alice Hoffman https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/287086/practical-magic-by-alice-hoffman-with-a-new-introduction-by-the-author/

3408 episode